Don’t bite the apple, Iris!

Good Taste. Bad TASTE. No taste.
But can somebody have too much taste?

I was thinking about this question for a long long long long time. To be exact: since June 2012, when Iris Apfel and Tavi Gevinson came together in honor of the Costume Institute’s Schiaparelli and Prada: Impossible Conversations exhibit at New York’s Metropolitan Museum of Art to talk about taste.  During the discussion of “Good Taste/Bad Taste: The Evolution of Contemporary Chic” these fashionistas from different generations talked about their attitude towards fashion, personal style and the effects on our everyday lives.
FotoOf course I was sitting in the last row, because the room was packed. I felt like every motherfucking blogger living in New York came out of his/her room to see what these people had to say. And yes, I was one of the victims.
And I know a lot of bloggers already talked about this, but I don’t give a shit. Now it’s my time to reflect on it. Because this one quote is haunting me in most hidden cells of my brain:
“To find out who you are is like putting yourself on a psychiatric couch, but you have nobody to help you. Really it isn’t easy. I was talking with my nephew this morning and he gave me one of the best quotes I’ve heard in years… ‘Personal style is curiosity about oneself.’” – Iris Apfel-

If you don’t know Iris, here is a short biography: Iris Apfel  is an American businesswoman, interior designer, and fashion icon. She is known for her approach to high-low dressing, mixing investment pieces with affordable accessories and apparel. And she is like really really old (which is not a bad thing at all). To get to know her, please take 5 minutes and watch this clip:

Such a great inspiration. I like the fact that she celebrates fashion as freedom of expression. And she is not taking it serious. She was saying that a lot people are suffering from too good taste, which means that they take fashion so serious, that they have to be on point 24/7. This is equal to: they are stressed. And then I ask myself: How can fashion stress you? If it does you chose the wrong hobby.

564914_10150627019386022_851647500_n

 

Leave a Reply

