Humans of New York

Putting a blogroll together is really driving me to despair. I feel like I am following all of them, but then again non of them at the same time. Don’t get me wrong, but sometimes influence is a bitch and I really try to limit my blog stalking, so that I don’t write about the same stuff that everybody else does. Sounds kind of selfish and stupid, but I don’t want to be a replica, but a self-made blueprint. if you are a blogger I bet you will understand what I am talking about. 
So I was thinking, thinking and thinking and there is one (Tumblr) blog, probably the first one I ever liked on Facebook, which at that time represented my stage of mind being. It was back than when I was living in New York and I felt like I was a part of the New York City street portraits that Brandon Stanton of HUMANS OF NEW YORK posted on a daily basis. It could have been me.
tumblr_mah6wc8a6R1qfiubf
On his Facebook page Brandon explains the idea of HONY: 
“HONY resulted from an idea that I had to construct a photographic census of New York City. I thought it would be really cool to create an exhaustive catalogue of the city’s inhabitants, so I set out to photograph 10,000 New Yorkers and plot their photos on a map. I worked for several months with this goal in mind. But somewhere along the way, HONY began to take on a much different character. I started collecting quotes and short stories from the people I met, and began including these snippets alongside the photographs. Taken together, these portraits and captions became the subject of a vibrant blog. With hundreds of thousands of followers on both Facebook and Tumblr, HONY now provides a worldwide audience with daily glimpses into the lives of strangers in New York City.”

The great thing about his blog is that it’s not about fashion or food or something material. It’s about real human beings, feelings, stories in combination with taking a picture in the right moment. Like it’s the mixture of small factors that make the final result blossom into a piece of art. So for you to better understand what I am talking about, check out these examples. And since The Shit I’m Talking is more or less a fashion blog I will show you 3 HONY portraits, 2 of them being kinda fashion-based:

"I grew up in foster care. My family was given money to spend on me, but they spent it all on themselves. I first got into fashion because I had to learn to make all my own clothes."

“I grew up in foster care. My family was given money to spend on me, but they spent it all on themselves. I first got into fashion because I had to learn to make all my own clothes.”

"I'm moving here to live with my girlfriend. And her parents. It's gonna be rough."

“I’m moving here to live with my girlfriend. And her parents. It’s gonna be rough.”

"I'm breaking out of my shell."

“I’m breaking out of my shell.”

So if Brandon came up to me, asking: “”If you could give one piece of advice to a large group of people, what would it be?”
I would probably say: “I am too young to give advice.” lol

And here is a little suggestion for all of you: there is a HUMANS OF NEW YORK book coming out. As soon as I see it in stores in Germany I will definitely grab one. And for right now I do have a blog post, but still no blogroll….

Leave a Reply

