Drugs

OK, so this blog post is kind of shocking and fascinating at the same time. And please do not try this at home!

“After experiencing drastic changes in my environment, I looked for other experiences that might profoundly affect my perception of the self.  So I devised another experiment where everyday I took a different drug and drew myself under the influence.”
This is what the 42 year old artist, cameraman and poet Bryan Lewis Saunders says about this collection called “Drugs”, where he took eighteen drugs in 11 days just to draw a self portrait under the influence of them.EIGHTEEN! Like I am overstrained with alcohol, but Bryan took 18 different ones, like cornucopia of opiates, hallucinogens, uppers and downers, as well as some more “out-of-the-box” substances like cough syrup and lighter fluid. See the results here:

tumblr_m7gye5fw3Q1rs85iro1_r1_250tumblr_m7gye5fw3Q1rs85iro6_250tumblr_m7gye5fw3Q1rs85iro3_250tumblr_m7gye5fw3Q1rs85iro5_250tumblr_m7gye5fw3Q1rs85iro2_250

Check out this snippet from an interview made by VICE:
As awesome as it is that you went to such an extreme to make that series work, I still think it’s kind of dwarfed by the fact that you’ve done at least a self-portrait everyday for the last 16 years. Crystal meth and prescription tranquilizers just don’t compare to the magnitude of that kind of project. How did it originally come about?
Well, when I first started drawing my self-portrait I just wanted to see something different in myself everyday. The artist sees the world, represents it, then puts a part of themselves in the representation. I didn’t want to be like many artists, who seem to only have a very specific style. I felt like that’s not totally real since people change everyday.

“Within weeks I became lethargic and suffered mild brain damage.  I am still conducting this experiment but over greater lapses of time.”
I am literally writing this and I am still shocked. And I haven’t had this feeling in a long long time…

tumblr_m7gye5fw3Q1rs85iro9_250tumblr_m7gye5fw3Q1rs85iro7_250

