The Rap Quotes

During my childhood the streets were my playground. Like I literally played soccer on the streets. That was actually the time when my brother got his first car and I always knew when his car is turning into my street, because the speakers in his Mercedes were turned up all the way: from Jay-Z to The Fugess, the hip hop beats were bumping in the streets.

This childhood memory was the first thing that came to my mind when I heard about Jay Shells “Rap Quotes” project, where he post famous rap quotes around New York and Los Angeles for this clever street art installations.  So he literally puts hip hop into the streets. The signs display quotes from famous hip hop artists like Jay-Z, Snoop Dogg, Nas or Notorious B.I.G. and are appropriately placed in the exact location the lyric calls out.
Dope as fuck:

jay_shells_rap_quotes_new_york_2014_08 jay_shells_rap_quotes_new_york_2014_02 jayshells_mar31-3142 jayshells_mar31-3456
Pictures via JayShells.com

Leave a Reply

