The Artist

I noticed every time I really like a topic I decided to write about, the blog post always ends up being shitty. And when I just write shit it just seems to be become a good blog post. Like wt actual f is wrong with me? So I want to apologize in advance, because I feel like this one not going to be the best post ever. But it is one I really like to talk about.

The artist Christopher Mudgetand his work. Seeing his black and white paintings made me think: Is that Picasso? No, seriously, is this Picasso? Like this is so Picasso without being Picasso. I was confused for a couple of seconds until I realized that Christopher pays homage with putting his own artsy handwriting into strictly black and white paintings.
Mr. Mudgget explains his work:  “Constraining my work to monochromatic renderings allows me to portray my subjects with a universality that transcends the limits, as it were, of both color and shape. Not allowing color to determine form, nor form to define essence, I bring an existentialist quality to my work that many artists only achieve through abstraction.”

And he continues:
“I play with my subjects, but respect their humanity. Perfection is an abstraction; imperfect existence is an art. I bend, but do not distort, I bruise, but do not break. Through careful choice of subject, color and technique, I am able to paint an exciting and insightful portrait of universal humanity that is race-less but not faceless.”

I am super bad at describing art, but I know what I like and I like these paintings. So good work, Mr. Mudgett!

MUDGETT_Boy-bear_400 Mudgett_Churchgoers_2012_400 MUDGETT_THEBOXER_2013WEB_400 MUDGETT_MUSICIAN2_2012WEB_o_400Pictures via Christopher Mudgget

Leave a Reply

