Past, Preset, Future

It’s been like 5 years since I passed my “Abitur”, which is a diploma from German secondary school qualifying for university admission or matriculation. 5 fucking year! What made me think of my time at school and the matter that time just runs is following:  I saw these pictures of Cass Tech High School in Detroit made by Detroiturbex.com  and that shit got me thinking.
tumblr_mq6xmx4l3n1s2jvzco2_500 tumblr_mq6xmx4l3n1s2jvzco7_500 The library, from a picture in an early 90's yearbook. tumblr_mq6xmx4l3n1s2jvzco1_500

So Detroiturbex.com is a website dedicated to documenting the past, present and future of the City of Detroit. Urbex stands for urban exploration, which is the exploration of man-made structures, usually abandoned ruins or not usually seen components of the man-made environment. So in this case it’s urban exploration of Detroit. Exploring and researching abandoned homes, schools, churches, and hospitals is one way to examine and understand the complicated history of the city. Buildings are what is left of the social bonds that tied together people, neighborhoods, and the city.

Would I ever go back in time and go back to school? Hell no! Too cool for school (don’t get me wrong: education is important, but no need to do it twice, if you know what I mean).

Pictures via Detroiturbex.com

Leave a Reply

