Donaldson Sackey

Donaldson Sackey, a Togolese international football player, who is not only into running after balls on the football field, but made his debut as model in the fashion scene a couple of months ago. From playing football to modelling, with an extremely eye-catching style, I had to sit down with this fellow and ask him a couple of questions: Donaldson sackey
The Shit I’m Talking: Let’s start this interview with a question that makes a lot of sense for this blog: What’s the shit you like to talk about?

Donaldson: I like to talk about football, fashion and music.

The Shit I’m Talking: Which makes a lot of sense! As professional football player, football made you travel the world. So you lived in countries like the UK, Netherlands, Spain and Germany and played for local teams. But which country influenced you most from a fashion point of view and why?
Donaldson: London is a city that influenced me the most. It’s full of inspiration. You can be whoever you want to be and wear whatever you want to wear without being judged that fast. The whole vibe is different…it’s a fashion city and you can feel it with all its streetstyles coming from punk, to the funk scene, up to hip hop and so on.

The Shit I’m Talking: Talking about football. Which one is your proudest moment in your career as a footballer?
Donaldson: My first game as a player on the national team of Togo.
Donaldson sackey Donaldson sackeyThe Shit I’m Talking: The one question that I have to ask as footballer getting into modelling. How the fuck did that happen?
Donaldson: I ask myself the same question (laugh). I never wanted to become a model, but it turned out that way. Actually I was about to buy football shoes and was discovered by a model scout. That’s how it all started and I am trying to make the best out of it. Kind of like David Beckham does (laugh).

The Shit I’m Talking: What’s more fun though: playing together on a football field or being alone in front of a camera?
Donaldson: It’s both fun, but being on a football field is a special feeling for me.

The Shit I’m Talking: I made the experience that the fashion business is full of people that have no idea about fashion (it’s true!). So do you think that a model that has no clue about fashion is a good model?
Donaldson: (Laugh) That’s a mean question! Let me put it this way: for a model it’s just about presenting yourself in front of the camera.
Donaldson sackeyThe Shit I’m Talking: If you could be on one cover which one would it be?
Donaldson: Definitely the GQ cover!

The Shit I’m Talking: Which fashion piece is on your wishlist right now?
Donaldson: The Raf Simons holographic sneakers.

The Shit I’m Talking: Good choice! I should put them on my wishlist, too! I think a playlist reveals a lot of someone’s personality. So what’s the last song you played on your Iphone or Ipod?
Donaldson: Can’t Stop by Theophilus London feat. Kanye West.

The Shit I’m Talking: These two are just da shit! Both of them being trendsetters and having their own style: how would you define style?And describe yours with three words!
Donaldson: Style is making things work together that wouldn’t look good together at first glance. And I would say my style is a classy mix of 80s and 90s fashion.
Donaldson sackey The Shit I’m Talking: And last but not least a little HONY (Humans of New York) moment. If you could give one piece of advice, what would it be?
Donaldson: Everything starts with a Dream, so dream big and work hard for it.

The Shit I’m Talking: Thank you for this interview, Donaldson!
Donaldson: My pleasure!

Make sure you follow Donaldson on Instagram: @donaldsonsackey!

Pictures via Martina Cyman

Leave a Reply

